Header Navigation

Wednesday, August 8, 2012

Ansari wins a 2nd term as V-P easily

Rajya Sabha MP's Sachin & Rekha
Incumbent Hamid Ansari, the UPA’s candidate, was re-elected vice-president on Tuesday, beating NDA nominee Jaswant Singh by a large margin of 252 votes.

Mr Ansari, 75, a former diplomat, becomes the second person after Sarvapalli Radhakrishnan, India’s first vice-president (and second President), to get two terms in the second highest office.

Out of the 736 votes polled on Tuesday, Mr Ansari got 490 votes against Mr Singh’s 238. Eight votes were declared invalid. Altogether 787 members of two Houses of the Parliament were eligible to vote.

Mr Ansari, a Padma Shri recipient and former vicechancellor of the Aligarh Muslim University, was a surprise choice for vicepresident in 2007, proposed by the Left, which was then giving outside support to the UPA government. The Left had no problem supporting him this time as well.

Among those who refrained from voting were ailing Union minister Vilasrao Deshmukh, admitted to a Chennai hospital, and BJP’s Shatrughan Sinha, recovering from surgery, besides 21 BJD members, 11 from the Telugu Desam and six from the Congress and supporting parties.

To read full story, please visit Deccan Chronicle Hyderabad

No comments:

Post a Comment